Business in Ghana

We Understand the issues that make the News

Archive for November 14th, 2016

Toaso Violently . Critical News, 13th December 2016

Posted by Business in Ghana on November 14, 2016

Sydney Casely-Hayford, thenewghanaian@gmail.com

I admit I have lived my whole life with very little violence. When I listen and see the devastation in Aleppo, Syria, Afghanistan, Mosul, Burundi, Somalia and Northern Nigeria, I thank my stars that I am far removed from these countries and I don’t look forward to any of the Boko Harams, Al Shababs and Al Qaedas coming anywhere near close to my shoreline.

Increasingly I wonder whether religion has not become a platform for violence and whether politicians using religion as a means of promoting a certain brand of occupation are not the bane of our society and we should take a little more time and examine the way we worship and practice democracy in Ghana.

The answer is certainly not a dictatorship as we have lessons from JJ Rawlings and his team of violent men, as well as the CPP/NLM fights of yore, which became a flat plain for leveling off all arguments for which is a better unit of people. Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in Critical Weekly News, Sydney Casely-Hayford, Uncategorized | 2 Comments »